Dubuque Symphony Orchestra Announces New Board Members

The Dubuque Symphony Orchestra is pleased to announce its new Board of Directors members for the 2013 – 2014 season: Matthew Boleyn, Marian Furst, Wes Heitzman, and Carleen Jenkins.

Matthew Boleyn was born and raised in Dubuque, Iowa. He graduated from Clarke University in 2008 receiving a Bachelor of Arts Degree with a double major in Music and Business Administration. While at Clarke University, Matthew worked for the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra as the Education Coordinator, the Northeast Iowa School of Music as a beginning level flute instructor, and interned with IMG Artists, L.L.C., in New York, NY.  Matthew then went on to attend the University of St. Thomas School of Law in Minneapolis, MN, and received his Juris Doctor in the spring of 2012. Matthew returned to Dubuque shortly thereafter. Upon passing the Iowa Bar in the fall of 2012 he joined the law firm of Reynolds and Kenline L.L.P. here in Dubuque as an associate attorney.

Marian Furst, a Dubuquer since 1983, grew up studying piano, organ, and French horn and is passionate about the arts and education. She holds a BS in Elementary Education from Northwest Missouri State University, a MA in Education from Ball State University, and music minor from Clarke University. Marian taught as a music specialist for 16 years at St. Columbkille and Resurrection schools, as well as served as music minister at Resurrection Church, directed children's and hand chime choirs at Resurrection, taught piano at NISOM, and accompanied vocal and instrumental students for local schools. Marian and her husband, Ken, have three children and three grandchildren. Since retiring in June 2011, Marian devotes her time to spoiling her grandsons, volunteering at Fulton School, quilting, traveling, and, of course, music.

Wes Heitzman was born and raised in Dubuque. He holds a BS and MS in Engineering from Stanford University, a Master of Architecture from U.C. Berkeley, and Master in Business Administration from the University of Northern Iowa. In 2012 he retired from John Deere Waterloo Works where he worked in project management, sales and marketing. Wes and his wife Barbara recently moved to Dubuque for retirement. He has previously served on the Board of Directors at the Waterloo Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestra, Cedar Valley Chamber Music Festival, and Goodwill Industries of Northeast Iowa.

Carleen Jenkins has a strong passion for music and the great knowledge that it brings. She joined the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra Board of Directors because she wishes to help others see the importance of music programs in the schools and in the community. Carleen, her husband Jim, and their two boys moved to Dubuque four years ago. She is a Security and Compliance Focal for the IBM Dubuque Delivery Center. Both of her boys are very active in music, school, and Boy Scouts and her oldest son is a member of the Dubuque Symphony Youth Orchestra.

The 2013 – 2014 Board of Directors are as follows: Patti Lachecki, President; Mantea Schmid, President-Elect/Development Chair; Kate Hendel, BVM, Secretary; Zack Armstrong, Finance Chair; John Woodin, Education Chair; Charles Barland; Karen Blocklinger (ex-officio); Tom Bolduc, Matthew Boleyn; Andrew Douglas; Barb Ehlers; Brian J. Fox; Marian Furst; Wes Heitzman; Rory Holscher; William Intriligator (ex-officio); Carleen Jenkins; Phil Jensen; John Link; Dan McClean; Ann Miller; Kay Posey (ex-officio); Kent Renier; Deb Sandry (ex-officio); Bernie Saks; and Jack Wertzberger.

As representatives of the public, Dubuque Symphony Orchestra board members ensure that the organization realizes its mission, fulfills its service to the community, and uses funds responsibly toward these ends. Their responsibilities include strategic planning, governance, policy-setting, financial oversight and fundraising.

For more information, please contact Kristin Hill, Director of Marketing and Community Relations, at khill@dubuquesymphony.org or (563) 557-1677.

Ultimate Country Hits thumbnail

Ultimate Country Hits

May 19, Sat | 8:00pm

Summer Melodies thumbnail

Summer Melodies

Jun 24, Sun | 6:30pm